Skip to main content
HomeCarriage & Sleigh Museum

Historic Carriage & Sleigh Museum

The DeVries Historic Carriage and Sleigh Museum boasts one of the finest collections of carriages, buggies, surreys, sleighs and cutters in the Midwest.

The Owosso Carriage and Sleigh Company manufactured several of the sleighs in the collection. Founded in 1886 as the Owosso Carriage Works, the company went on to produce 90 styles of carriages and sleighs by its height in the early 1900's. Although it closed in 1915 as the automobile became more popular, its legacy lives on. Excellent examples of Owosso's manufacturing past can be seen in the museum.

museum sign

Originally the personal collection of Dr. Jack DeVries, The museum now holds over 25 vehicles in restored and partially restored condition. Each piece has a brief history description attached.

Entrance to the Museum is by appointment. Please call our office if you would like to schedule a visit.

The Grounds of DeVries Nature Conservancy are also open for private carriage and sleigh rides. Sleighs require at least five inches of snow. Call for more information.
Carriages front view



2635 N. M-52, P.O. Box 608, Owosso, MI 48867 • (989) 723-3365 • info@devriesnc.org